Dec 11, 2020

NAACP Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day Celebration and Installation Ceremony January 18, 2021 at 5:00 PM

Ozaukee County NAACP welcomes Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes as he gives remarks to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and helps to launch 2021 with the installation of new officers during the virtual celebration of Dr. King’s legacy on Monday, January 18, 2021 at 5:00 pm. Four new officers have been elected to lead the Ozaukee County NAACP Branch for the next two years. This ceremony serves as a public commitment to advancing equality, justice and opportunity in Ozaukee County.

Effective January 1, 2021, Janette Braverman assumes the role of President of the Ozaukee County Branch. Janette is the first African American County Board Supervisor for Ozaukee County (WI). She is the CEO of Leaders Leaving Legacies, LLC and the Executive Director of External Partnerships for Cardinal Stritch University. Her professional experience includes positions in government, academia, leadership consulting, and information technology. She was awarded the 2019 NAACP Game Changer Award, 2018 Milwaukee Business Journal Woman of Influence award, and was recently named a 2020 Milwaukee-Area Power Broker by the Milwaukee Business Journal.

Janette succeeds Dr. Cal Tamanji, who served in the position for four years. “It has been my pleasure to serve this important organization,” reflected Branch President Dr. Cal Tamanji. “I am excited for this new slate of leaders and the vitality they bring to their roles. I strongly believe they will move our Branch and our community forward in the best ways possible. I also want to thank the current officers for their commitment and exemplary service, as well.”

Longtime member Lucy Friedrichs will serve as Branch First Vice-President for 2021 – 2023. Lucy takes over from outgoing First VP Greg Turner. In addition to having served as a past secretary, Lucy was recognized with the 2011 Branch Service Award.

NAACP Life Member Patty Kubala was elected Branch Secretary. Starting January 1, she will take on the role formerly held by Life Member Myra George. Both Patty and Myra are past Branch Service Award recipients.

Current First Vice-President Greg Turner has been elected Branch Treasurer. Along with his wife, Greg received the 2018 Game-Changer Award. He succeeds Gregory Alston who served in the role since the Branch reorganization in 2015.

The ceremony will be held virtually and open to the public. Follow on Facebook for forthcoming details and additional events – NAACP Ozaukee County Branch

The NAACP is the oldest, largest, and strongest civil rights organization in the US. The Ozaukee County Branch was founded in 1990.

Ozaukee County Branch of the NAACP| ​ ​| PO Box 301, Thiensville, WI 53092

Please follow and like us: