August 12 2021

NAACP of Ozaukee 31st Annual Freedom Fund – Sold Out Event

The NAACP of Ozaukee County’s 31st Annual Freedom Fund Event held on Thursday, August 5, 2021 was a sold out event! State and county officials attended the event including Lt. Governor Mandela Barnes, State Representative Deb Andraca, County Supervisors Alice Read and Natalia Minkel-Dumit. Corporate sponsors in attendance included Rockwell Automation, Goodwill Industries of SEW, Advocate Aurora Health and several others.

“Several guests and Life Members from our Branch, including 30-year member Patty Kubala, said that this was the highest attended Freedom Fund event they had ever experienced. My heart was so full. I was pleasantly surprised by the enormous response from the community and beyond. Our goal was to host an event that would inspire our community to Rise Up and move forward even in the midst of the ‘pandemic within the pandemic,’ and they showed up! The Freedom Fund and Executive Committee worked countless hours to plan an exceptional event. We followed proper COVID guidelines with guidance from our local health departments,” stated Branch President, Janette M. Braverman.

Patty Kubala was the recipient of the Women In the NAACP (WIN) Frances Hook Award, LuVerda Sayles Martin, PhD and the Washington Ozaukee Public Health Department received Game Changer Awards for their outstanding work in Health and Education. Branch members Lee Heinrich and Demonica Flagg received NAACP Service Awards for their outstanding service. Scholarships in the amount of $2,500 were awarded to Jadelyn Burris and Carys Ross, both Homestead High School graduates who have excelled academically. This fall Jadelyn will be attending UW Madison and Carys will be attending Xavier University of Louisiana. Tasha Nicole opened the event with Lift Evr’y Voice, the Black National Anthem, and Makayla Hughes’ inspirational rendition of Rise Up by Andra Day moved the audience to tears.

The panel discussion included topics such as Critical Race Theory, Black History being taught across WI school districts and more. Panelists included Corey Prince, NAACP State Criminal Justice Chair, Angela Adams, Chief Communications & Diversity Officer at Goodwill Industries of Southeastern Wisconsin and Metropolitan Chicago, and John Daniels III., Executive Director and Chairman of A.L.I.V.E. The panel was moderated by President Janette Braverman.

“Since January 2021, the Branch has restructured, rebranded and grown our membership by over 80%,” stated President Braverman. If you would like to learn more or become a member of the NAACP of Ozaukee County, visit their website at Please feel free to connect with them at with any questions.

The NAACP is the oldest, largest, and strongest civil rights organization in the US. The Ozaukee County Branch was founded in 1990.

Ozaukee County Branch of the NAACP #3266 | ​ ​| PO Box 301, Thiensville, WI 53092

Please follow and like us: